~ More than 215 golf enthusiasts from across the region to take part in the open golf championship ~




Mysuru, December 14, 2015: NR Group, the makers of Cycle Pure Agarbathies, today announced the winners of NR Group Golf Championship 2015. Held amidst much fanfare, the event witnessed around 215 golf enthusiasts participating across 14 categories.  Sri. R. Guru, Chairman, NR Group and Mr. Arjun Ranga, Managing Partner, NR Group presented the trophies to the winners. Dr. M. S Ranganath, President JWGC, Mr. Raghuveera Ponnuswamy, Captain, JWGC, Dr. Abraham Thomas, Hon. Secretary, JWGC, Mr. C.S. Ravishankar, Hon. Treasurer, JWGC and Dr. S.L.Narayana graced the occasion with their presence.


Announcing the winners Mr. Arjun Ranga, Managing Partner, NR Group said, “We are overwhelmed by the response. The encouragement has further strengthened our resolve to invest and work towards the development of the game. Going forward, we are planning to make NR Group Golf Championship a much bigger and better event.”


The winners of each of the category are:

Sl. No. Category
1. Stroke Play Gross Winner: Mr. K. A Anil Kumar — 71 GrossRunner: Mater. M.S shreyas Chandra — 73 Gross
2. Stroke Play Net [Handicap 0 To 12] Winner: Mr. M. G. Chengappa — 67 NetRunner: Wg. CDR. K.H.B. Singh
3. Stroke Play Net [Handicap 13 To 18] Winner: Mr. Nanje Gowda — 62 NetRunner: Mr. M Ramesh — 64 Net
4. Stableford Net [Handicap 0 To 18] Winner: Dr. Y Manjunath — 43 PointsRunner: Mr. Ashok Poovanna — 42 Points
5. Stableford Net  [Handicap 0 To 24]For Seniors Above 65 Years and Above Winner: Mr. H.D. Thimmappa Gowda — 39 PointsRunner: Gp. Capt. H.M.V. Murthy — 39 Points
6. Stableford Net  [Handicap 0 To 24]For Seniors Above 70 Years and Above Winner: Col. M.C. Appanna — 38 PointsRunner: Wg. Cdr. M.D. Aiyanna — 37 Points
7. Stableford NetFor Junior Golfers Winner: Master Dhruv Bopanna — 41 PointsRunner: Mr. Samarth S Urs — 36 Points
8. Stableford NetFor Lady Golfers Winner: Ms. Vidhathri K Urs — 37 PointsRunner: Ms. Pranavi S Urs — 36 Points
9. Longest Drive (9th Hole) Winner: Master. M. S. Shreyas Chandra
10. Straightest Drive (16th Hole) Winner: Mr. Deepak Kumar Jain — 6”
11. Nearest to Pin (6th Hole) Winner: Dr. Anthony Fernandes — 16’5”
12. Match Play Gross Winner: Mater M.S. Shreyas ChandraRunner: Col. B N. Somanna
13. Match Play Singles Net Winner: Master Samarth S UrsRunner: Mr. S.K Ramalinge Gowda
14. Match Play Doubles Net Winner: Mr. Ganesh Babu & Mr. S RamachandraRunner: Mr. Sunil Kothari & Mr. Ramesh Kumar Jain
15. Match Play Singles Net for Seniors Winner: Mr. D SrinivasRunner: Brig.R.V. Seetharamaiah


Over the years, Cycle Pure Agarbathies has become one of the leading brands to promote sports. Apart from its continuous investment in cricket the group has been in the forefront promoting golf, tennis and hockey in the region. The Group has been hosting golf tournaments at regular intervals. They had hosted the National level Ladies Golf Tournament in Mysuru giving an opportunity to ladies golf enthusiasts to come together and hone their skills.

About NR Group

The Mysuru-based NR Group was founded by Shri N. Ranga Rao in 1948. A true visionary and philanthropist, Shri. Ranga Rao created the ubiquitous Cycle Pure Agarbathies which has today become the largest selling agarbathy brand in the world. From a home-grown enterprise, NR Group has evolved in to a successfully run business conglomerate with established presence in India and abroad. The Group has diversified into various business categories like functional air care products (Lia brand of room fresheners and car-fresheners), wellness home fragrance products (IRIS) under Ripple Fragrances and floral extracts (NESSO). The Group is also very committed to its social responsibilities and fulfils them through its charity arm ‘The NR Foundation’. A champion of sustainable development, NR Group is certified as a carbon neutral manufacturer by UK-based The Carbon Neutral Company. It is the only company in the sector to be recognized as green company. NR Group today is managed by the third generation of the Ranga family. For more information on the Group, please visit


Media Contacts:


Renu Praveen;; +91 9742279654|

Sonakshi Murze;; +91 9742124240